Our Board

The Board consists of the following directors.

  • Tim Eggar

    Chairman; Chairman of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee; age 65. Tim joined Cape on 1 May 2011. Tim’s parliamentary career between 1979 and 1997 included the key government appointment of Minister for Energy from 1992 to 1996. His extensive international experience includes being Global Head of Integrated Energy Corporate Finance at ABN AMRO, Chief Executive of Monument Oil and Gas, Chairman of Harrison Lovegrove and Chairman of Indago Petroleum. Tim is currently Chairman of MyCelx Technologies Corporation and Haulfryn Group Limited.

  • Joe Oatley

    Chief Executive; age 48. Joe joined Cape as Chief Executive on 29 June 2012. Previously he was Chief Executive of Hamworthy plc, a global oil and gas engineering business, which he joined in 2007 and led until its takeover by Wärtsilä in 2012. Prior to this, Joe spent most of his career in the engineering sector in a broad range of roles including Managing Director, strategy development and acquisitions. Joe is also a non-executive director of Wates Group Ltd.

  • Michael Speakman

    Chief Financial Officer; age 52. Michael joined Cape on 6 December 2012. Michael has over 30 years of experience with public and private companies across a range of industries, holding senior operational, divisional and corporate roles within TI Group plc and Smiths Group plc between 1982 and 2004, before his appointment as Chief Financial Officer for the oilfield services company Expro International Group plc (Expro). At Expro, Michael played a key role in its development from a FTSE small cap company to one on the verge of breaking into the FTSE 100 when it was successfully auctioned and taken private in 2008. Michael holds a BSc in Engineering and he is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. Michael is also a non-executive director of FrontRow Energy Partners Limited and Interventek Subsea Engineering Limited.

  • Michael Merton

    Independent non-executive director; Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Nomination Committee; Senior Independent Director; age 65. Michael joined Cape on 4 May 2011. Michael is a Chartered Accountant with extensive experience in the international resources industry, having spent most of his executive career at Rio Tinto in senior operational roles around the world. Michael is also a non-executive director of BlackRock Commodities Income Investment Trust plc and Chairman of the J Sainsbury Pension Scheme and its Investment Committee, in addition to being a director of various subsidiaries for the aforementioned companies. He is a trustee of the Universities Superannuation Scheme.

  • Steve Good

    Independent non-executive director; Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nomination Committees; age 56. Steve joined Cape on 6 July 2015. Steve has a BA in Economics and Finance and is a Chartered Accountant with extensive international experience leading specialty chemicals and plastics businesses. He was formerly Chief Executive at Low & Bonar plc, the industrial textile manufacturing business, from 2009 to 2014, when he retired from full time executive roles. Steve also serves as a non-executive director on the boards of three other companies: Elementis plc; Zotefoams plc; and Anglian Water Services Ltd. Steve was appointed Chairman at Zotefoams plc on 1 April 2016.

  • Brian Larcombe

    Independent non-executive director; member of the Remuneration Committee; age 63. Brian joined Cape on 21 January 2016. Brian spent most of his career in private equity with 3i Group. After leading the UK investment business for a number of years, he became Finance Director ahead of its flotation on the London Stock Exchange and then Chief Executive from 1997 to 2004. Since his retirement from 3i, Brian has served on the boards of several private and public companies, including Gallaher Group Limited, F&C Asset Management PLC and gategroup Holding AG. He is currently the Senior Independent Director of Smith & Nephew plc and a director of Kodak Alaris Holdings Limited.

  • Mary Reilly

    Independent non-executive director; member of the Audit Committee from 1 September 2016; age 63. Mary joined Cape as a non-executive director on 1 September 2016. Mary has a wealth of experience having worked for over 30 years in an international environment as a chartered accountant with Deloitte LLP and non-executive director, chairing board and audit and risk committees. Her experience spans a variety of sectors including sport, luxury retail, manufacturing, business services and media. Mary is a non-executive director of FTSE-listed company Ferrexpo plc, Travelzoo Inc. (which is listed on NASDAQ), Crown Agents Limited, the Department of Transport, Essentra plc, and is an Associate Member of BUPA.

Video loading...